Out at the Missile Site

Friends,

President Obama pardoned two turkeys prior to this Thanksgiving holiday – one name Liberty and the other named Peace.  I’m still wondering why Peace (let alone Liberty) would ever need a pardon.  But enough of turkeys; the President could have chosen among scores of them wandering the halls of DC.

As I sit here on the day before Thanksgiving thinking on things for which I am thankful, I keep focusing on the countless people with whom I have had the honor of working with in this good peacemaking work that we do together (and it is something that we truly do together, no matter how far apart we may be geographically).

So I thought I would leave you with a song that was sung by the Raging Grannies of Denver on October 8, 2011 at the N-8 Minuteman Missile Site during a memorial for our dear Sister Jackie Hudson. This was the place where Jackie, along with Sisters Carol Gilbert and Ardeth Platte engaged in the Sacred Earth and Space Plowshares action in 2002.

The new words to the song were written by Judy Trompeter.  Thanks to all who sing (and act) for peace. Together we make beautiful music.

Peace to All,

Leonard

****************

Out at the Missile Site
(to tune of “Down by the Riverside”)

Gonna lay down my sword and shield
Down by the riverside,
Down by the riverside,
Down by the riverside.
Gonna lay down my sword and shield
Down by the riverside.
Ain’t gonna study war no more.
I ain’t gonna study war no more,
I ain’t gonna study war no more,
Ain’t gonna study war no more.

Sister Jackie’s work goes on
Out at the missile site,
Out at the missile site,
Out at the missile site.
Sister Jackie’s work goes on
Out at the missile site.
Ain’t gonna finance war no more.
I ain’t gonna finance war no more,
I ain’t gonna finance war no more,
Ain’t gonna finance war no more.

Gonna carry on for these brave nuns
No matter what it takes,
No matter what it takes,
No matter what it takes.
Gonna carry on for these brave nuns
No matter what it takes.
Ain’t gonna pay for no more nukes.

I’m gonna protest war each day,
I’m gonna protest war each day,
Gonna protest war each day.
I’m gonna protest war each day,
I’m gonna protest war each day,
Until all the nukes are gone.

One Response

  1. Thank you, Leonard! You speak (and sing) for all of us…. And thank you for all your work on our behalf. Happy Thanksgiving everybody! Karen P. S. I’ve had a spirited letter from Bix…he’s promised me to “journal” daily and send it on….he’s introducing me now to his mates!

Leave a Reply

