Anticipating Court, Jail and a Loving Community

by Lynne Greenwald

As I prepare to enter a “not guilty” plea on January 6, 2010 for charges from the November 2, 2009 Disarm Now Plowshares, I remain strongly committed to the need to disarm the Trident subs, and all nuclear weapons. I also stand ready to face the court in an attempt to declare the illegality and immorality of these weapons. And I stand here today as a mother, daughter and sister fully aware of a variety of needs, hopes and dreams that I may not be available to share with my family.

My daughter, Alissa, is pregnant and she and her husband, Brad, are happily expecting their first baby this coming June. My other daughter, Christy, lives in San Francisco, searching for meaningful work and a good life. Noah is about to take off on a quest to understand who he is and how to live peacefully. I’m fortunate to have wonderful adult children who continue to support their mother’s actions.

My parents and sister, Karen, live in Erie, Pennsylvania – my birthplace and 3000 miles away. I traveled West to “find myself” and to live and work for peace in a nonviolent community in 1980.  I have a small family and my parents are in their 80’s now. My sister just found out she has cancer. Testing continues to determine a better diagnosis and necessary treatment. She has lived with my parents for several years and has no other family.

These words are being shared now as I face the experiences of life and death for loved ones, and as I anticipate probable jail time.  What were abstract thoughts for the past year have become reality today. Of course the court could deliver a not guilty verdict and recognize that this action of entering the storage area (SWFPAC) for the highest concentration of nuclear weapons in the U.S., was a necessary step in exposing the Trident threats to destroy lives, and all life.

I will be in court January 6 and face the consequences along with my 4 partners in upholding peace, truth and love – Bix, Susan, Anne and Steve. I will ache and cry for my family in whatever joy and suffering they encounter. I pray for a healthy future for all children, for cures for cancer and all that brings about pain and suffering, for nuclear disarmament and the end of war.

And because we are a community seeking a better world, I am asking for your gifts of prayer and thoughts, for my family and all those who are victims of horrible wars throughout this world, and for military men and women who lose their lives or are severely injured and traumatized. My life, as a “peace activist” is no different than these others, except I chose to cut through the fences at the Trident Base in Kitsap County to expose a hidden truth. I chose to celebrate life by entering the base with my hammer, pruning shears and sunflower seeds to begin disarmament.

3 Responses

  1. Lynne, you have our support and prayers!! During this time of Solstice and Christmas, as we turn slowly back towards light and birth, may the hearts of the magistrate, Navy officers, and prosecutor also be turned towards light, and hope, and new possibilities. Peace IS possible.

  2. Lynne,
    We carry you–and your wonderful and amazing children–in our hearts! Please know how much we care and how much we yearn for changing hearts and minds. May these blessings of peace by with you!

  3. My prayers are with you. And my thanks as well.
    Blessings to you and your family for being people who say “yes” to life and to peace.

Leave a Reply

